Thinking of…

My 5yo nephew Kaden, who’s in hospital for an eye operation today. Very best of happy thoughts to you.

9/11 – and where I was…
I was working on the Canal du Nivernais in Burgundy on Belle Epoque.(http://www.bargecompany.com/BelleEpoqueINDEX.htm ). We were in the middle of a 6 day tour, in the middle of nowhere, with 10 New Yorkers aboard. The Company Manager, Leigh, came on the boat one afternoon, gathered everyone together and said “Now, don’t panic, but the arabs have just started world war three.” Leigh was a master of tactful expression. I’ll never forget that. I remember that I had the night off, because we organised for all the passengers to go visit a friend of the captain, who had satellite TV. After that, all our bookings were cancelled, and we had almost 8 weeks off – sitting around doing nothing. There is only so many times you can clean brasswork without going mad. I remember that I didn’t see photos until about 2 weeks after, and I didn’t see tv footage til I got back to England at the end of October.

About Miss J

Gen-x Australian female - out of my mind and my country. Cast adrift, as it were :) Enjoys: cat-cuddling, books, movies, music, theatre, travel, rpgs, cricket, F1 racing and all things to do with the sea..
This entry was posted in waxing philosophical. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

