sorry for the interruption…

OK so I got up to Tues 26, yes?

Well- got up early to get to Cambridge station for the 09:15 train.  Train to London, Tube to Waterloo and then waiting for about an hour for the 12:50 Eurostar to leave.  And I have to say at this point, that travelling First Class on a train is not much different to travelling economy – except you get a 3 course meal with proper metal cutlery.  You still get plastic cups, but the metal cutlery is lovely!  Oh, and free alcohol is pretty good too :) 

The Eurostar pulled into Gare du Nord at about 4pm and my basic French got a workout it hasn’t had for a few years!  I was just navigating my way and hoping they followed me, really :)  but we didn’t have any problems making it to our hotel on Blvd Saint Michel.  It was lovely to be back in Paris – I do love Paris, and it was great to be able to show my mum around.  The first night (after my horrific realisation that I’d be fully exposed to snoring in stereo) we wandered down Blvd du Montpasse to find some food.  For this, the first meal, they went for a chain restaurant which ( I think) is kind of like Sizzler – steaks salads and nothing too scary.  After dinner we wandered down Blvd du Montpasse and took some naviation to find ourselves, at full dark, standing under the Eiffel Tower!  it was lovely, all lit up so it looked like the tower was covered in blinking fireflies.  Sent Greg a text message, had a giggle, discovered the toilets closed at 8pm and got in a taxi for return to hotel  There I discovered the other problem about travelling with parents – they go to bed at 9pm!  So I was up until I felt tired, by sitting in the hotel bar & reading my book til I felt sleepy.  Then went to the room and tried to blockout the snoring so I could sleep.  I wan’t really successful.

to be continued…

About Miss J

Gen-x Australian female - out of my mind and my country. Cast adrift, as it were :) Enjoys: cat-cuddling, books, movies, music, theatre, travel, rpgs, cricket, F1 racing and all things to do with the sea..
This entry was posted in outings, travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

