back. exhausted.

Almost 3,500 miles later, the wanderers return.   Well I return, mum & john are still on the flight home.  all is well, they had a great time, I actually had fun too.  And I didn’t kill,maim or in any way wound them or myself during the 19 days…  I’m rather proud of myself for that really, as there definitely were moments!  But on the whole a lovely time was had by all – and saw some beautiful/amazing/incredible/wonderful things…

Covered (and I’m just going to list the cities/towns, ok?And I might have left some out, cause I can’t think yet.) – Cambridge, Saffron Walden, Canterbury, Dover, Battle/Hastings, Eastbourne, Brighton, Portsmouth, Plymouth, Exeter, Bath, Stratford, Nottingham, Sherwood Forest, Hull (found my great-uncle and great-gran’s graves – mum was pleased), Beverley, York, Tamworth, Ripon, Kendal, Windemere, up to Hadrian’s Wall & followed it to Newcastle where we found John’s mum’s birthplace, Alnwick, Berwick, Edinburgh, Stirling, Fort William, Drumnadrochit, Glencoe, ferry from somewhere to Gourock, Largs, Ayr, Stranraer, Belfast, Ballycastle, Giant’s Causeway, Limavady, Londonderry, Donegal, Sligo, Galway, Ennis, Limerick, Cork, Ardmore, Kilkenny, Avoca, Wicklow, Dublin – and home.

2300miles in the UK hire car, about 1200 in the Ireland hire car.  Only 2 wet days of the 19 – we were incredibly lucky on the weather front.

I’m glad to be home.  But I’m so tired I can’t process.  

Only 755 emails waiting for me this morning, and BOSS’s away – so I’ve got a good two days to sort them out.  But, of course, lots of paper on my desk.  

More when I can actually think further than oh its nice to be home!

About Miss J

Gen-x Australian female - out of my mind and my country. Cast adrift, as it were :) Enjoys: cat-cuddling, books, movies, music, theatre, travel, rpgs, cricket, F1 racing and all things to do with the sea..
This entry was posted in travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

