seafood extravaganza!

Sorry it’s been a while since I’ve written in here, truly haven’t been doing much anyway…

Only things I really did in the last two weeks were dinner @ Miguel & Bego’s, and then made my carrot + walnut cake (one of my 8″ high double layered, cream cheese icing jobs!) for Begonia’s 31st birthday party last weekend..

I started smoking again with the folks visit – slowly (too slowly!) quitting again.  

Bought Season 7 of West Wing – all done now!  have to find another show to get addicted to!  Deadwood’s pretty cool – could be a contender.

The most exciting thing that has happenned in the last few weeks was yesterday.  I took the afternoon off (thanks BOSS!) and Sarah, Christine, Victoria and I piled in the car at 11:30 and drove for about 1.5hrs to go have lunch at The Company Shed, Mersea Island.  It’s an island cut off from the Essex coast by perhaps a 100m stretch of water that floods the road at high tide.  But lovely little spot – and The Company Shed is literally a shed with a few picnic tables in it, that serves seafood fresh off the boat.  BYO drink + bread + anything else you fancy, but the food is fantastic!  Had the freshest mussels I’ve had for ages (I hesitate to say, but even better than the ones I had in Oz!) and then bought some to take home (?1.40 = $3 a pint of mussels!!).  Tasted razor clams for the first time – yummy, yummy! – and bought some of them for home too.  We shared a MASSIVE seafood platter, piled high with shrimp, green lipped mussels, cockels, fresh whole crab, smoked salmon and smoked mackerel.  I wasn’t too impressed with the smoked mackerel (I still think mackerel is a cat food!) but the rest was absolutely fantastic.  And served in such a no-nonsense way, it was a really special afternoon.  The tide came up and flooded the road whilst we were sitting drinking, the guy on the table next door had to wade to his car.  We weren’t affected, but it just made the day more special..  Had a few glasses of wine, sat for a few hours drinking and laughing and eating fabulous food, then went for a walk down the coast.  Met an old oyster farmer with some of the biggest oysters I’d ever seen.  Realised how much I miss the sea.  Have to go back to that place!

Then last night (got home from Mersea at about 5:15pm) and watched the best film I’ve seen in ages – Kiss, Kiss, Bang, Bang.  Starring Robert Downey Jr & Val Kilmer it’s quite the adventure ride, and actually had me laughing (something I rarely do at films anymore).  

And that’s about it.  I;m trying to save money at the moment, as we four girls are off to Stockholm Xmas markets for the weekend mid December, but might go for a drive on the weekend….  No plans yet, but we’ll see..

Hope all is well in your world

About Miss J

Gen-x Australian female - out of my mind and my country. Cast adrift, as it were :) Enjoys: cat-cuddling, books, movies, music, theatre, travel, rpgs, cricket, F1 racing and all things to do with the sea..
This entry was posted in outings, reviews, travel, weekends. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

