Happy Anniversary – 7 years in Britain!

You know I realised mid-way through a glass of wine at the work drinks last Friday?  That it was my 7 year anniversary of arriving in Britain.  7 years.  Geez.  I left Australia on 30 Nov and landed in London on 1 December 1999.  It’s gone really quickly…

 And what have I done since?

Travel: all around England and Scotland and Northern Ireland, Republic of Ireland, little bit in East Wales – the Black Mountains, Greek Islands, Paris (a few times), Burgundy region and the South of France, Prague, Frankfurt and (coming up) Stockholm and Marrakesh.

Work: lots of temp jobs, data entry for British plumbing council, 8 months hostessing on a hotel-barge in France, Edinburgh Sick Kids Mental Health unit, and then started with Boss in neuroscience research.

Lived: Balsham for the first 8 weeks (when not travelling the UK), then in a hostel in Edinburgh for 2 years.  Yep, I shared a room with 5 other people for 2 whole years!  Lived on the boat in France Feb – Oct 01.  Then moved out to share a room with just one person, then my own place in Edinburgh.  Moved direct from Edinburgh to my own place in Cambridge.

 Ive gone home 3 times in 7 years, only to return, and my mum’s visited me.  In Australia I spend most of my time travelling up and down the east coast, as important people are a bit spread out now.  The travel at home is a lot easier than here, for some unknown reason. 

Yep – 7 years.  And most of it I’ve actually enjoyed! :)

About Miss J

Gen-x Australian female - out of my mind and my country. Cast adrift, as it were :) Enjoys: cat-cuddling, books, movies, music, theatre, travel, rpgs, cricket, F1 racing and all things to do with the sea..
This entry was posted in birfdys, travel, useless information. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Happy Anniversary – 7 years in Britain!

  1. Paradise says:

    Hi Jane, 7 years, you must have the itch now to come home! Thanks for the Hinxton Calender. W

  2. Paradise says:

    hmm, stupid internet updated before I finished! We received the calendar today, so thank you Jane. I am off to Sydney to visit friends for christmas and champagne!! The other half says hi.

Leave a Reply

