Fun, fun, fun..

What was going to be a fairly quiet weekend turned into a bit of a mess :)

Friday night I had a glass or two of wine – it’d been a tough and busy week. Boss is still on his ‘get-things-done’ drive, and I’m tending to suffer for it, because he’s not doing the stuff I need him to do! Our big annual meeting is 8 weeks away (we have a project meeting with all our international collaborators and the Scientific Advisory Board every year), and he still hasn’t confirmed the invite list (so I can’t book travel/accomm) or the programme (so I can’t confirm meal times or even meal numbers with the venue) or who’s writing what in the report booklet. (Last year the booklet was 40 pages. This year he’s already told me he wants to make it a folder with different sections, which means a lot of writing, and a lot of layout / production time for me. It’s around this time every year I become very good friends with the photocopiers.) You can watch my blood pressure rise the closer we get to the event and the more I realise what he still has to do. I think he likes seeing me that close to losing it and does this on purpose. His annual experiment to see if he can get me to meltdown or not. So yeah, t’was a tough week.

Friday night, along with my wine, I watched Mrs Henderson Presents with Judi Dench and Bob Hoskins, about a burlesque show in London in the WW2 years. I wasn’t sure about it, but it was fabulous! Really enjoyed it. And Dame Judi is a legend.

Saturday Christine and I went to Bluewater, a big shopping mall in Kent (about an hour’s drive away round the M25) and I bought a new camera. I’m very impressed with it, and love it to bits. It’s an Olympus FE-170 and it’s fantastic! I’ve wanted a new camera for a while. Now, my old camera was good, but it annoyed me that you could only get about 40 photos out of it, because you couldn’t change the default picture size so it stayed changed – you had to change it every time you turned the camera on. If you didn’t change it, you only got about 40 shots. So it meant you couldn’t take a lot of spontaneous photos. I have also discovered I don’t have a very steady hand, and the shutter lag on the old one meant that a lot of my photos came out blurry.. But this new one has anti-shake! WhooHoo! And I can also get 215 photos from one card!

Saturday night was at Sarah’s house, dinner with Christine and Ms Amanda Brown (and you have to give her the complete name – I’m Skippy Jane, Christine is C-dot and Amanda is Ms Amanda Brown.) Amanda is a real character, and we were drinking and laughing and eating – great night all round. Sarah made a chicken-y pilaf-y thingy, and a rocket, parmesan and chargrilled onion salad which was wonderful too!

Sunday was a bit of recovery day, and I did have a bit of a hangover. But also went to Tesco and got things I’d forgotten – but still forgot milk!

Twas very hard to get up today – lying in bed, listening to the weather so I can decide how many layers to put on (it’s gone really cold again and we’re supposed to have snow this week!) I was trying to decide whether I can call in with a Mental Health Day. You know, “I’m taking today off or my Mental Health will suffer.” And then the news came on and it was announced that today is almost National Chuck-A-Sickie Day, as today has the highest percentage of people calling in sick. Apparently between the post-xmas deflation, credit card bills coming in, crappy weather and cold, today is the day that most people just give up and stay in bed. So I couldn’t stay home, because thenI’d just be a statistic and everyone here would tell me all about it.

*sigh* Mondays (generally) suck.

About Miss J

Gen-x Australian female - out of my mind and my country. Cast adrift, as it were :) Enjoys: cat-cuddling, books, movies, music, theatre, travel, rpgs, cricket, F1 racing and all things to do with the sea..
This entry was posted in outings, reviews, weekends. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

