Deficiencies of modern medicine

So. My headaches continue, even though I’m now in the quiet room. Feels like I’ve got sand in my eye sockets, like you feel when you’ve not had enough sleep – except my eyes have been that way for a month. They hurt. They’re very photo-sensitive. I’ve been to see the Occupational Health person, and the Doctor, who both told me to see the optician. I’ve just come back from the optician, who tells me that I’m a tiny bit long-sighted, but can’t tell me if my headaches are due to that or not. He says he can’t be sure that the headaches will stop if I get glasses. He gave me a prescription for glasses, but didn’t try to sell me a pair. He told me to hold my reading matter further away from my face and not to wear my sunglasses when it’s not sunny.

Got back to the office, very disappointed in modern medicine. I guess now it’s back to the doctor and blood tests and things to find out what the hell is causing these headaches.

Spoke to boss (who’s a registered GP in Australia) who took a look at the optician’s prescription and said that I should go to the chemist and get a pair of cheap-off-the-counter specs, which they make for longsighted people only. He said they’ll be less than £10, try them for a few weeks and see if you want a prescription. I think I’ll do that.

But I still want to go back to the doctor.

I know I desperately need a holiday/break/time off work. Perhaps I’m doing this to myself? Overstressed?

Unfortunately it’s going to get worse before it gets better. I’ve got time off scheduled for 10-13 Apr (not going anywhere, just taking a break) but between now and then is going to be really hectic. *sigh*

I’ll pickup some of those glasses and see what happens. Fingers crossed for me, ok?

About Miss J

Gen-x Australian female - out of my mind and my country. Cast adrift, as it were :) Enjoys: cat-cuddling, books, movies, music, theatre, travel, rpgs, cricket, F1 racing and all things to do with the sea..
This entry was posted in rant, useless information. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

