The Politicians are coming! Vote for your lives!

It’s polling day here inthe UK today.  Local elections.

I went and voted this morning on the way to work.  The polling place is the local village hall.  Outside the door is a list of candidates – all two of them.  Walking inside, there’s a table with two ladies sitting at it and no-one else in the room.  They take my ‘voting card’ that gets sent to me in the post, give me a bookmark-sized piece of paper with two candidates on it.  I take two steps to the little ‘polling booth’, which actually just looks like two corner partitions back to back, and check my chosen box.  Then walk to a side table and put it in the voting box. The whole thing took less than a minute, but I’ve done my bit for English Representative Democracy.

See, here in the UK it’s not compulsory to vote.  And I don’t understand why.  It’s never been compulsory to vote here.  And they don’t really push registrations or anything, they don’t ASK people to sign up.   I’ve only seen one party political broadcast on the tv (pushing Gordon Brown – ERK!) building up to voting today.  But I guess maybe they don’t want everyone to vote.

But today’s election will decide whether my local council will be conservative or liberal democrat.  There was no-one else on the ticket.   Bit of a farce, really.

Oh well, we’ll see what happens tonight.

About Miss J

Gen-x Australian female - out of my mind and my country. Cast adrift, as it were :) Enjoys: cat-cuddling, books, movies, music, theatre, travel, rpgs, cricket, F1 racing and all things to do with the sea..
This entry was posted in political bent. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

