A good day

The day started pretty dismally – it’s raining again and only topping 14deg, and it’s almost, technically, summer. Honestly, this country’s weather is appalling. Which seems to be a running joke. But anyway. Got to work and started moving back into my office from my temporary office. (See HERE and HERE for backstory.) The fan is still there but switched off, the roof chillers are now working, and we can locate back to our regular digs. So we did!

Now I’m back in my regular office, I’ve got a new desk layout that gives us much more floorspace (and me more deskspace. You know what they say, clean desk = dirty mind! Good thing I can never usually see my desk for the piles of paper on it!) and on the whole my office-mate and I are very happy. It’s also fantastic because the window is now open-able, with no equipment noise or floor vibrations driving us to murder.

YAAYYY!

Except the IT guys who moved my computer seem to have done something to my soundcard, and now my music doesn’t work.

BOOOOO! (Addendum, later in the afternoon – they fixed it. The fix took about 80 seconds.)

But then I got taken to lunch by my fellow admin staff for my birthday next week. Had just the one glass of wine but I’m feeling no pain whatsoever this afternoon. Although I do wish I wasn’t such a cheap drunk! :) Honestly, I’m ready to curl up under my brilliant new desk layout and fall asleep! But we sat there for and hour and a half, chatted, laughed, solved the world’s problems… I like days like today.

But they are, of course, only possible because all our bosses are on a retreat for two days. Put up in a v fancy hotel for two days – off site so they can’t escape to their emails and/or staff. Ah, the crap you have to take when you get paid the big bucks!

Anyway – thanks girls for a lovely luncheon. Let’s not wait sop long until the next one, huh? :)

About Miss J

Gen-x Australian female - out of my mind and my country. Cast adrift, as it were :) Enjoys: cat-cuddling, books, movies, music, theatre, travel, rpgs, cricket, F1 racing and all things to do with the sea..
This entry was posted in birfdys, outings, silliness, useless information. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

