big bills

I’m in the wrong field. This got proved to me twice on the weekend.

Firstly on Sat morning, when the post arrived with a statement from my medical insurance guys saying that they’d paid my neurologist bill. Then I looked at the amount. Ready? This will shock you. For a 30-40 min appointment, no x-rays or cat-scans or anything, just simple balance tests – £220. That’s AUD$525! For 35mins! Holy boosted bank accounts, Batman! I’m really glad I don’t have to pay that bill. Makes me wonder just how much my physio is costing!

Went to get my hair cut on sat afternoon, which was quite reasonably priced, actually. He took a lot of weight of my hair, it feels a lot lighter, but it looks kind of the same – perhaps a few more layers in it. I’m fairly happy with it, though I’ll have to get used to styling it properly.

Sat afternoon I watched Belgium F1 qualifying, then The Lakehouse movie w/ Sandra Bullock & Keanu. Enjoyed that. Lost a few tears in the final bits, actually. Nice movie. Strange concept – but nice movie. Didn’t do much at all Sat night – with Mark away in Cornwall I’m enjoying the silence!

Sunday I was up early to go to Tesco and buy supplies for dinner with Begonia & Miguel. Walked out of the house, shut the door and had that classic moment of dread when I realised I’d locked myself out. No windows were open, the back door was locked. My flatmate’s in Cornwall. Luckily my neighbour was home to offer a cup of tea and a Yellow Pages – and about an hour later the locksmith arrived. He must not have been a particularly successful burglar though, cause it took him almost 25mins to get my door open. He did it, but it took him a bit.

Then he charged me £88. £88 for 25mins! I’m so definitely in the wrong field!

Is it too late to turn myself into a neurologist? Failing that, how about a locksmith? Bloody hell…

Dinner on Sunday went well – did my fabulous roast chicken dinner with roat potatoes, roast carrots and fresh beans. T’was scrummy indeed. And we got through two bottles of wine – bit of a hangover today.

Physio again this morning, and she thinks that she knows what’s going on with my neck now, and hence what the best treatment will be. Which is good, cause my neck is still so delicate that it’s just silly. I’m actually embarrassed that I let it get this bad.

Anway, it is getting better, and I only had a headache of about 15-20mins all weekend.

happy monday.

About Miss J

Gen-x Australian female - out of my mind and my country. Cast adrift, as it were :) Enjoys: cat-cuddling, books, movies, music, theatre, travel, rpgs, cricket, F1 racing and all things to do with the sea..
This entry was posted in life's little mysteries, rant, weekends. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

