kulcha tursdy: Steve Kilbey

This song has been going round in my head the last few days, I can’t seem to get rid of it. So perhaps putting it on here for posterity is what it wants?

Steve Kilbey is one of Australia’s most prolific singer/songwriters, who’s collaborated with (almost) everyone – and their dog. Though always producing stand-out music, insightful lyrics – something to be proud of.

Something that Means Something

The oceans are drying,
children stop crying
we’re trying
we’re dying
to leave this island to you
No recovery
each day is a terrible discovery
under the wound they cover me,
is this true

What do you want me to want?
Something that means something?
What do you want me to want?
You don’t have a clue
do you?

The cities are stinking,
now keep quiet, I’m thinking
I’m linking
this unthinking
ritual to you
No recovery,
and all these sins don’t bother me
under the skin another me,
which is you

A cry from Venus,
I know she’s above and between us
She’s been with us,
seen with us, dreamed of us too
No recovery,
I wish this earth could mother me
I hope these skies don’t smother me,
just like you do

About Miss J

Gen-x Australian female - out of my mind and my country. Cast adrift, as it were :) Enjoys: cat-cuddling, books, movies, music, theatre, travel, rpgs, cricket, F1 racing and all things to do with the sea..
This entry was posted in a touch of the poet, australiana, reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

