yes, I’ve got issues. you saying you don’t?

So here we are.  2008.  Bloody hell. 

Before we get into hopes, dreams, plans etc – lets do a quick catchup on outstanding issues due to my blog-tardiness. 

Firstly, my headaches.  Was going to physio, getting acupuncture, but the headaches were still coming.  So bad that in Berlin I went really dizzy & almost fainted stepping off a bus.  Slightly scary moment – I’ve never fainted before.  So after theat episode the physio told me that although the treatment seemed to be having some effect, it wasn’t helping what seemed to be a greater problem than muscles in my neck.  So, back to the neurologist.  Another £220 (thank god for free medical insurance at work!), another trip to the private hospital.  Again, no x-rays or anything done, no tests.  Just a new drug to try – Epilim, which I’ve found out is an anti-epilepsy medication!  I haven’t actually taken any yet – the amitryptiline I was on before makes it hard to wake up in the morning, so I stopped taking those.  And I’m truthfully pretty scared about the Epilim.  I’ve started taking the amitryptiline earlier in the evening, so it wears off before I have to get up, but I’m still scared to take the epilim.  And I’m still getting my headaches. 

On Wednesday this week, supposedly the first day back at work, I got out of bed and almost fell sideways.  For some reason my balance had deserted me, and I was walking with a list to the right.  Showering was an adventure, and I almost fell out of the shower at a few points, before I gave up on work and went back to bed. Slept most of the day and was fine when I woke.  No idea what caused it – no water or pressure in my ears, I’m not missing any toes.  Scared me a little, and my headaches have been pretty much constant since.  Perhaps I should try the Epilim tonight, so I’ve got a weekend morning to deal with any dramas resulting. 

So that’s were we are with the headaches.  I’ve got two meds, an anti-depressant (amitryptiline) and seizure medication (epilim) both of which scare me.  I’ve got such a low low tolerance to drugs I’m scared to take them.  Yes, I’d rather live with the pain.  Pain I can handle.  I can deal with pain.  I’ve no idea how these new drugs are going to affect me – let alone some of the nasty side effects of these things (rashes, weight gain, renal failure!).  I intended to take one whilst on hols over x-moose, but truthfully (and totally unintentionally, really!) forgot.  So maybe tonights the night. *sigh* I’m nervous.

Anyway, didn’t really do much over x-moose.  Trying to save some money for my trip home in March.  Went out with Christine to the sales for an afternoon and picked up a few things.  Went to x-moose dinner at Sarah’s parent’s house with her family – which was pretty good actually.  Food was lovely, the teenage kids were a little obnoxious, but that’s teenagers.  Looked after Miguel & Begonia’s hamster while they went to Spain for x-moose.  They brought me back some spanish ham, chorizo and a big round of sheeps cheese that I love.  Very nice people they are!  And my bloody ‘fraidy-cat is still scared of the hamster!  Other than that, Gabe is fine and still as Gabe as can be. :)

Back at work now, which is OK at the moment cause boss is still away and my office mate has now retired! YAY!  I can have the temperature where I want it, I can listen to my music, I don’t have to hide my confidential stuff, I don’t get people in and out of the office all day – it’s quite lovely really.  But I know it’ll only be a month or so before I start getting frustrated again.  But I’ll wait for the result of the role review thingy that I went through late last year.  Letters with new pay grades and salaries are being issued next week – so we’ll see what that says.

That’s about it for the mo- I’ve rambled long enough.  Wishing you all a happy 2008 and the best wishes of the season. x

About Miss J

Gen-x Australian female - out of my mind and my country. Cast adrift, as it were :) Enjoys: cat-cuddling, books, movies, music, theatre, travel, rpgs, cricket, F1 racing and all things to do with the sea..
This entry was posted in useless information. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to yes, I’ve got issues. you saying you don’t?

  1. dave says:

    I’ve beeen on Elavil for 20 years for headaches. Works wonderfully. Initially, I was very tired during the day. Then, I started taking it in the morning instead of the evening: Bingo – no more ass dragging.

Leave a Reply

