pangs

See, I’ve not been home in two years. 
I’ve not seen my friends and family for two years. 
I’ve been stranded. 
Adrift.  (See, the name of this blog makes sense now, don’t it? :)
Lost on the other side of the world with little money to spare on the ‘frivilolity’ of seeing my loved ones.. 

But in 5 weeks
at some unjust hour of the morning, 
I’ll be stepping out of Sydney Kingsford Smith Airport Arrivals into the car park,
with my arm around my best friend Nell. 
The sun will be shining and we’ll be laughing,
there’ll be the faint smell of eucalyptus in the air
below the smell of Sydney –
a gentle, almost septic mix of the sea and carbon monoxide. :)
The colours will have that Australian brightness
that certain shade, or certain slant of light, that tells you your home
*sigh* Home. :)

Where everyone in the airport sounds like I do.
Where my heart will always be
I agree with Peter Allen (bless his cotton socks)
I definintely still call Australia home.

We’ll get in the car and drive up to her place on the Central Coast. 
(after I get the joy of paying the parking fee and again feeling plastic money!)
We’ll get to drive up the Pacific Highway –
through North Sydney, Artarmon,
those other North Shore suburbs I can’t remember
(it has been at least two years since I’ve been along there, you know.  Actually, I don’t think I went past there on the last trip home – so it’s been even longer!) 
Past Thornleigh, Pennant Hills, Hornsby, Wahroonga,
Waitara and Mt Kuringai, Brooklyn.. 
where you crest the hill and see the river and sea
stretched out amongst all the green…
the sun glinting off the water..
the wake of the boats of fishermen slowly cruising
and tourists going mental on jetskis… 
Then we’ll arrive at Nell & Gavin’s
and I’ll do a teensy bit of unpacking (i.e. the duty free!)
and we’ll sit on her verandah and have tea and cigarettes
(well, I’ll have the cigarettes cause she’s being good)
(and tea cause it’ll be about 7am and a bit too early for booze)
and talk like we always do
laugh like we always do
hold hands and grin at each other
Then come lunchtime a gentle wander down to the seaside to get fish & chips
First meal back is always fish & chips
Preferrably silver dory, but I’m perfectly happy with skate
then I’ll eat so much fresh lovely fishy I’ll feel slightly ill
and the fact that I’ve been travelling for a full day will hit me
and I’ll take an afternoon snooze
almost always required on the first day back…

I can see it all now. :)

5 weeks to go.

About Miss J

Gen-x Australian female - out of my mind and my country. Cast adrift, as it were :) Enjoys: cat-cuddling, books, movies, music, theatre, travel, rpgs, cricket, F1 racing and all things to do with the sea..
This entry was posted in a touch of the poet, australiana, travel, useless information, waxing philosophical. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

