where she dips rods and toes in the Pacific

‘there’s this stuff in the chemist called Quell’

Up at 05:30 this morning for a quick breakfast before heading out on Dad’s mate, Gary’s boat for a bit of deep sea fishing.  And luckily I’ve got my body clock so well trained that I tell it I have to wake up and it does the job for me – I woke on my own at 05:22.  Nice when things work how they’re supposed to.  Tried to stay up late and watch the Bahrain F1 Grand Prix, but it started at 22:30 here and I was fading by then.  Jan & I sat up for perhaps the first half hour, then both gave up & went to bed. 

Anyway, up before the sun today, and at Gary’s house for 06:30.  He’s got an 18ft fishing boat that he takes out as often as possible and offered Dad & me a mornings fishing which, of course, we jumped at.  Gary had all the tackle and equipment, so we rocked up to his place and then with his other mate, John, headed down to the boatramp.  On the way to the boatramp saw a pod of 4-5 dolphins frolicking off the beach near Dad’s. :)  Quiet morning on the sea, very still and calm in the inlet, I was feeling quiet good about the whole thing.  When we got out of the inlet and headed into the actual sea things got a bit rougher.  The boat was being tossed a bit, partly because of speed, partly wind, but I could see a slight swell picking up – nothing to worry about though, and I was with guys experienced in these waters and the boat had plenty of lifejackets.  I felt fine, looking forward to a good day’s fishing in the deep blue.

We headed out to the north end of Montague Island, about 5 miles off the coast, and paid a brief visit to the Australian fur seal colony there.  The sun was just coming out from behind the clouds and I got a couple of lovely photos, as well as just marvelling at the lovely furry beastie’s amazing abilities in the water.  And the fact that they really did like to show off! :)  We headed around the eastern side of the island and then down to the reef on its southern tip, where the water shallowed to about 50-60ft to wet our first lines.  Didn’t have much luck, seemed to feed lots of fish but none came on the hook!  John caught himself a lovely big leatherjacket, but that was about it so we moved on to spot 2. 

I was starting to feel a bit green around the gills at this point.  See, a small boat tends to move to every single little wavelet in the bloody ocean.  I was having trouble finding my sealegs, I seemed to have left them bloody far from where I really needed them.  Despite the bit of toast and cup of tea that constituted breakfast, my stomach started to feel that there was a hell of a lot more in there than that.  I held myself together with a stalwart determination.

Spot 2 fared better.  We each caught a Maori Rasse, which are really pretty fish but not very good eating so they all went back in the sea.  A few little rock cod also jumped on John’s hook (‘See it takes talent to catch one this big!’), and I got myself a small grouper, which was very pretty as well, but all also went back to the sea.  Gary started asking if anyone had a banana on board, which apparently is the cause of most of the fishermen’s woes.  We didn’t, but we were beginning to wonder where the fish were – we’d been out there about 2 & a half hours and only had one leatherjacket to show for it (good eating, but not my favourite – I was after a nice snapper).  I was feeling greener and greener.  My hands and feet were cold and my feet were tingling.  I couldn’t stop yawning or burping, but the nausea seemed stuck in my chest – it wouldn’t come up or go down, it just sat there.  Tried to concentrate on fishing, but looking down at the water made my head spin.

Moved on to spot 3 for a final go before giving up.  Gary found the spot by GPS and said that he’d never come away from there without a few flathead (lovely eating fish!).  I think by this point he was feeling a bit guilty that we hadn’t caught dinner and I was feeling poorly.  I halfheartedly threw my line in again, lost some more bait, then gave up & just tried to control my stomach.  The men kept it up for another 30mins or so and Dad also caught a lovely leatherjacket to add to the lonely one of John’s in the bucket.  The guys were all giving me advice and apparently ‘there’s this stuff in the chemist called Quell’ which is brilliant for seasickness.  Pity the bloody chemist was 6 miles away, onshore!!  Anyway, shortly after they took sympathy on me and  called it quits.  The fish weren’t biting, only nibbling our bait away, and I definitely wasn’t up for an extended session.  We packed up the gear and pointed the boat toward home.  As soon as the boat started moving again my stomach felt better – it was purely the movement of the open sea in the drifting boat that made me queasy.  Took a slightly circuitous route home so I could take some photos, and I was feeling loads better, before getting back to the boatramp about 11am. 

John gave us his leatherjacket to go with our own, and Gary felt bad enough that we didn’t catch anything that he gave me half a dozen fresh flathead fillets from his previous trip out the day before!  Bless him!  Gary, we had them for dinner tonight – absolutely lip-smackingly beautiful!  I do love a good bit of fishy. :)

Got back and went for a swim with Jan.  It’s the middle of autumn here but the water temp is still 20deg and it was lovely!  Spent an hour in the back garden with a book, trying to make the colour on the back of my legs sort of match the residual colour on the front of my legs. My sumburnt legs have healed really well, and they just look brown now – but only on the front.  The back is still pommie white.  Anyway, the hour yesterday and the hour in the sun today helped, there’s a bit of colour there now, definitely enough to prove I’ve been on holidays. 

Saw on the news tonight that it’s still snowing in the UK!  Hehehheeeeee! :)  Got picture message from Begonia showing me the snow in her garden.  I sort of half hope it’s still there when I get back.  Only half though, because I want the warm weather to come now!

Have also made a decision about my job.  My mind rests better.  Tell you later.

hope all are well & happy & not suffering cold feets.. :)  xx

About Miss J

Gen-x Australian female - out of my mind and my country. Cast adrift, as it were :) Enjoys: cat-cuddling, books, movies, music, theatre, travel, rpgs, cricket, F1 racing and all things to do with the sea..
This entry was posted in australiana, outings, travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

