post 300: the weary traveller returns

This is it – post number 300 on this wee blog.  300 posts in 18 months.  Nowhere near one a day, which is probably good as you’d all get terribly bored with my life’s minutiae, but a pretty consistent rate.  Well, consistent as far as I’m concerned! :)  Thanks to my readers for returning, thanks to you newbies for stopping by.  Muchos gracias people!

Well, I’m back in the UK after my month-long antipodean expedition, and believe me the amount of travelling I have to do on these trips is close to legendary!  I landed at Heathrow at 06:20 on Sat morning, after an exhausting flight where there were in-flight entertainment problems on the 9 hours to Bangkok and someone’s disgusting progeny taking pleasure in kicking the hell out of my seat the whole way to London.  Needless to say I didn’t get much sleep.  Fucking kids!  Shouldn’t be allowed to travel with the rest of us!  Or, at least, parents given explicit sets of rules & regs to abide by, along with the threat of being thrown off the plane at the fuel-stop.  Honestly – if I can be kicked off the plane for rude and aggressive behaviour, why can’t the bloody kid be kicked off for its highly disruptive behaviour?  One of life’s little mysteries.

Anyway, landed fine, waited the obligatory 30mins in the passport queue and then another obligatory 30mins for my bag to appear.  (thank god we didn’t arrive into Terminal 5!)  Heathrow express to Paddington then Tube to Kings Cross, then Cambridge express before 20min wait for my bus for return home.  Got home about 11:20am and presented Mark with his gift (which he loved!) and sorted my duty free and commenced obligatory cat-cuddling.  Mark went off to see his kids and I lasted perhaps another hour before I passed out.  I woke at 10pm when Mark arrived home, and I was in the same position I went to sleep in, except with a hungry cat on my pillow!  The poor little blighter had been trying to wake me up for a few hours.  He got a tin of tuna to make it all better…  And because I’d slept for so long I couldn’t sleep at all Sat night.  I was awake from 10pm Sat to 9pm Sun – then slept straight through til 4am today.  Hopefully by tomorrow my sleep patterns with be somewhere near normal.

So yep – back at work here today.  Met with boss this morning and told him that I’ll be actively looking for another job, and he sort of expected that.  He was really nice actually, told me to let him know if there’s anyone he can call for me – and then told me I couldn’t leave because then things wouldn’t get done! :)  All very nice to hear.  So I’ll be actively looking for other work.  Still don’t really know what industry I feel like getting in to – and I’ve done a hell of a lot of industries already! – but I know that I need a change. 

So there you go – 300 posts and things are still moving along.  I promise to sort my trip photos in the next few days and get them loaded on Flickr asap.  xx

P.S. Happy birthday Evan, ya miserable bugger.

About Miss J

Gen-x Australian female - out of my mind and my country. Cast adrift, as it were :) Enjoys: cat-cuddling, books, movies, music, theatre, travel, rpgs, cricket, F1 racing and all things to do with the sea..
This entry was posted in australiana, strange but true, travel and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to post 300: the weary traveller returns

  1. J and D says:

    Hi jane,
    Congrats on 300th! We miss you in Aussie. Some good jobs in Ausse too!!!!

  2. cloudburst says:

    don’t you start! :)

  3. Samantha says:

    Well, I have taken quite a close look on your website and I must say that I find it extraordinarily interesting.

  4. cloudburst says:

    gee, thanks! I’m blushing now…
    bless your cotton socks! :)

Leave a Reply

