c’est la..

I got there early and had a wander around the suburb – which was typical outer-London, really. Very multicultural, very interesting. The boss seemed really nice – we chatted for perhaps an hour, and I left feeling everything went really well and I was in with a good chance. Honestly, you should have heard the perks of this place – 24hr counseling/advice hotline for staff, weekly massage therapist onsite, medical, dental, pension, bonuses etc. I was getting more and more enthusiastic the more the guy told me.

After I left I had a call from the agency who sent me to the job – asking what money I talked about, cause they’d just had a call from them saying that I would cost too much. I said I was applying for roles between £30-40K, because that’s how much I think I’m worth, but that I needed £30K to cover my finaincials. My agent, Giles, finally found out that the company’s HR department had quoted a wrong figure to him which he’d consequently advertised and set us up with – £3,000 less than what I was told! He apologised profusely, I felt like my time had been wasted, but I’ve got to call him back this morning about whether I’m still interested in the role. £3K is a fair bit of money, it would almost cover my commute to London for a year. I’m going over my financials at the moment, but it doesn’t look like I’m going to be able to take it at £27K. It wouldn’t make it financially viable to leave this job.

Upsetting, but their HR dept fuckup (and quite a fuckup indeed) directed at Giles and consequently at me. Disappointing, not only because the interview went so well, but shit happens in the big city, yes?

I’ll keep looking and I’m sure to find something, but it’s a bit of a blow and I feel a bit knocked about this morning. Oh well, c’est la.

I’ll let you know when to cross fingers for me again..
xx

About Miss J

Gen-x Australian female - out of my mind and my country. Cast adrift, as it were :) Enjoys: cat-cuddling, books, movies, music, theatre, travel, rpgs, cricket, F1 racing and all things to do with the sea..
This entry was posted in news, useless information. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

