temped and eclipsed!

So – we’ve got a temp scheduled to come in and take over from me for a 2 week handover in mid August, running up to the time when I leave to start my new job. I’m piling stuff on a corner of my desk for her to get on with, and for me to tell her how to do, when she starts.

I understand the need for handovers, I do believe they are essential, but it doesn’t stop me hating them. See, I’m not patient enough, or dis-conscientious (??) enough, to be able to stop what needs to be done and explain the processes to someone else. When someone asks me how to do something, I always find myself saying ‘give it here and I’ll take care of it’ rather than tellling them how to do it. It’s just a matter of time, 5 mins spent explaining, or the 30seconds it would take to do it myself. So, I do it myself.

But hopefully I’ll get over that and have a nice quiet two weeks whilst the temp gets stressed and tears her hair out at the laxidaisical attitude of my team. Honestly, for people with such big brains, scientist can be the most scatterbrained people. Deadlines, or even scheduled meeting times, don’t seem to mean much to them – hell, contracted working hours don’t seem to mean much to them! Most will work way more than their contracted hours, following experiments, but there are a couple who just take the piss. And that pisses me off. I know I’ve got an overdeveloped conscience, but in my view if you’re being paid to do a job, then you damn well do that job. You don’t lark about, come in whenever you feel like it, drag things out much longer than necessary and make everyone wait for you. Honestly, I feel like kicking them in the pants sometimes!

Anyhoo – it’s Friday, and I shouldn’t get myself stressed on Fridays. :)

Oh – and I saw the chunk taken out of the sun by the solar eclipse today! It looked a little like a distored pac-man.. Apparently you could see the whole thing from somewhere in northern Russia, but we in the UK only got a snippet out of the top left corner (if a ball has corners. You know what I mean!)

Miguel & Begonia over for dinner on Sat nite, perhaps a movie on Sunday (desperately want to see Wall-E!) and that’s about it.

Happy Friday and a very good weekend to all..
xx

About Miss J

Gen-x Australian female - out of my mind and my country. Cast adrift, as it were :) Enjoys: cat-cuddling, books, movies, music, theatre, travel, rpgs, cricket, F1 racing and all things to do with the sea..
This entry was posted in news, useless information, weekends. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

