Caution: diverted patriotism?

I’ve been watching the olympics.  Like most of the rest of the planet, I assume.  And I’ve noticed, too, that Britain are doing rather well..

Which brings up strange feelings in me.  I’m aussie to the core and will be til I die, but that doesn’t mean that I can’t feel a sense of pride in my resident country, does it? 

See Britain are notoriously crappy at olympics, usually to be found around position 10-15 on the medal table.  But since London’d got the next olympics, the govt has been spending money on sport (SHOCKER!).  I think they’re mainly doing it so that they won’t be embarrassed by the general crap-ness of their team.  Whatever the reason, it’s working and they’re starting to see significant results.

And I am proud of the Brits.  They’ve been so crap for so long, that the jubilation and excitement about winning, hell – even placing!, is somewhat infectious.  For example, on Saturday Louis Smith, a 19yo UK gymnast, got a bronze medal in the pommel horse – which is Britain’s first medal in artistic gymnastics for 80 years!  Well done Louis!  I don’t care who you are, that’s quite an achievement!  It’s even more of an achievement when you think that gymnastics has been dominated by the Chinese, Americans and Russians for as long as anyone can remember.  Damn well done!  (And almost certainly secures him an OBE / MBE / Knighthood!  Honestly, sometimes I think the Queen puts honours in Xmas crackers! They seem to be handed out for everything..  Not to diminish Louis’ achievement, but he’s only 19 and has plenty of good sporting years yet.  How about you wait til he retires from sport??)

So I find myself with mixed feelings – I want Australia to do well, of course I do.  I want the Aussies to wipe the floor with the rest of the world and prove once again what a fantastically sporting nation we are.  But I also want Britain to do well. 

I find myself watching a race like the rowing, where Aussie and GB are neck & neck and have a nasty moment of not knowing who to scream for!  Its never happened before.  Weird.

Go Aussie Go!  Aussie Aussie Aussie Oi! Oi! OI! (but come on Team GB too!)

About Miss J

Gen-x Australian female - out of my mind and my country. Cast adrift, as it were :) Enjoys: cat-cuddling, books, movies, music, theatre, travel, rpgs, cricket, F1 racing and all things to do with the sea..
This entry was posted in life's little mysteries, strange but true, useless information, waxing philosophical. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

