I take it all back

Further to my last post about how proud I am of Britain scoring so well in the olympics – I take it all back.  Just because they’re bad winners.

On UK television this morning they tore shreds into the Australian olympic team, and Australians in general for winning fewer golds than GB. 

This is what they do, you see.  They’re bad winners.  Instead of a quiet proud dignity, they have to run about and hurl abuse at everyone else for losing.  I’ve seen this in every sporting event that GB have won since I’ve been here.  And truly, using the excuse that they don’t win very often and don’t know how to act, is no longer appropriate.  They DO know how to act, with respect for the other competitors, with pride, joy and a little bit of dignity.  They know because that’s how every other country in the world (except perhaps USA) acts when they win a medal (or indeed almost any sporting event).  However there’s something about the Brits that just make them overreact, that make them push the boundaries of propriety. 

And I know that there’s a great rivalry between UK and Oz, I’ve heard of almost nothing but this rivalry every time the two countries compete in anything.  But there is no need to drag it out into abuse.

I’m embarrassed for the Brit olympians, just because they might feel the cause of it all.  They are doing well, and I am proud of them – perhaps I just hate the press…

Anyway – rant ends.

About Miss J

Gen-x Australian female - out of my mind and my country. Cast adrift, as it were :) Enjoys: cat-cuddling, books, movies, music, theatre, travel, rpgs, cricket, F1 racing and all things to do with the sea..
This entry was posted in rant, useless information. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I take it all back

  1. J and D says:

    Hi Jane,

    I agree with your comments, bloody hell, it is not about beating other countries it is more about individuals doing their best, and at the end if they are the top country when the gold medals are counted…well, good on them. The stupid Americans are adding up all medals, so they are the top country..wow, lets hope and I don’t care whom, let another country beat them other than the Chinese beating the Americans….what about Anna Meares and Sally MCCellan…oh my god!!! Silver to both. What stories. From you know who that loves her sport with a partner that hates it!!!

Leave a Reply

