Blogroll: Cheeseburger Gothic

I fell in love with John Birmingham way back in 1994, when John released a wee book that took me and my fellow GenX’ers by storm with its wit, despair and truth – “He died with a felafel in his hand”,  about living in shared houses in Brisbane and other cities in Australia with various dubious housemates, one of which was the heroin addict of the title.  I was in my shared house period at the time and John’s book perfectly summed up the experience!

John and I went quiet for a while – which was all my fault, I was travelling and we lost touch –  but in 2007 I fell in love with John all over again when he blogged about why Americans should start playing cricket: “For one cannot have pretensions to mastering the universe when one is regularly undone by the likes of Sri Lanka or Zimbabwe. When one fears the re-emergence of the Caribbean as a world power, one is likely to face the re-emergence of a caliphate in the old Ottoman Empire with equanimity.”  From Blunt Instrument

John’s latest incarnation is Cheeseburger Gothic – where he’s moved his main blogging talents and writes about anything and everything..

enjoy :D

xx

About Miss J

Gen-x Australian female - out of my mind and my country. Cast adrift, as it were :) Enjoys: cat-cuddling, books, movies, music, theatre, travel, rpgs, cricket, F1 racing and all things to do with the sea..
This entry was posted in australiana, blogroll, proof I'm old. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

