2 measley little points!!!

Out at my usual Sunday jaunt – Archery..  Been doing this for about 4 months now and slowly (very damn slowly!) getting better..

Learnt on Barebow (i.e. no sights) and did ok during my initial training course, so started with the Club using barebow.  However, jumping from 30yds to 50yds was a bit of a leap (!) so I came back down to 30 and started using sights.  However, it seems that I am one of those people who are ‘built for barebow’ – I just can’t get my head around sights and making minute adjustments and having the arrow go nowhere near where I wanted it turned out to be very very frustrating.  I was hitting the target (or boss), but only the outer edges.

The proof was in the scores – using sights, I was lucky to get 1 Gold in 3 dozen arrows.  Barebow, I shot 3 Golds in a dozen.  So I went back to barebow.

Next Steps

To get an achievement badge on barebow I have to shoot 189.

Scoring today..  I shot 187.

ONE – EIGHT – BLOODY – SEVEN!!!

The field quickly filled with expletives, one of which I stole from Agent Zoyle after watching ‘Paul‘ last night.  My new favourite swear phrase.

Honestly – the only thing worse that being two points short is being one point short.

Topping off a frustrating day – found out that the guy I’ve been attracted to has a lady-friend (after I bit the bullet & asked him out).  Bummer – but there you go.  Don’t ask, don’t get.

So now, it’s hot drinks to warm the cold hands, uggs to warm the cold wet feet (was raining overnight & the field was wet), and a couple of hours on Warcraft to relax.  Oh, and Laundry.

But did go online and bought myself a bowstand, 3-fingered archery glove and some more fletchings (I lost one – literally – no idea where the damn thing is).

Hope everyone’s Sunday is going ok

xx

About Miss J

Gen-x Australian female - out of my mind and my country. Cast adrift, as it were :) Enjoys: cat-cuddling, books, movies, music, theatre, travel, rpgs, cricket, F1 racing and all things to do with the sea..
This entry was posted in archery. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

