First sunburn of the season.. ow!

Big weekend!

Archery club AGM on Friday night, 4hrs. 
Sat night headed up to Cambridge for dinner with Scarah, The Lovely Maxine and Ms Brown, who I haven’t seen for ages.  Nice dinner, good company, and 3hrs total driving – listening and singing along to The Hummingbirds, Ratcat and The Huxton Creepers. Getting back in touch with my Aussie 90’s music roots! :D  Was a good drive, actually.  Havent had a long haul like that for a while, quite enjoyed it.

Sunday is Archery day.  Sun was shining and I was in a T-Shirt.  Sunburn on bow arm, chest and chin (thank god I was wearing a hat!) Gave out a couple of award badges, had a bad run on 40yds but good company and a good day.  Judicious application of aloe vera this evening.

Came home from archery & spent a couple of hours trying to figure out the scoring software for the archery records.  Had to recategorise 120 people and about 400 score records, since it seemed the categories didnt load with the file transfer! Still got more work to do on it, but put it down when there was an incident outside…

When I came home, my neighbour (lovely 73yo lady) was in the garden doing some repotting.  I was sitting at my pc, trying to work out what was wrong with the archery file when I heard her yelling for help.  I looked out the window from my 3rd floor into the gardens & saw her on her back, almost crying, yelling. Rushed downstairs, madly trying to remember my first aid (I am qualified and insured!). 

She’d tripped and fallen on her right hip and had enormous pain.  She asked to sit up, so me and the lady from flat 2 got her sitting up then, when she asked to stand, got her to her feet.  She couldnt put any weight on her right leg, she still had feeling in her leg and foot, but an enormous pain in her hip.  We sat her in a chair, called the ambo’s, wrapped a blanket round her and got her a drink of water.

She seemed to be ok – she was shaking a bit and a little wobbly, so we just kept talking to her and stayed with her.  She called her son, who soon arrived with his wife to wait with her for the ambo.  She was cold, so we picked up the chair she was sitting in and, not moving her body position at all, carried her chair and all inside her flat.  She seemed happier there and was far more comfortable in the light and warmth than out in the garden.

Since she had family with her, I went back upstairs to my flat, then when the ambo’s turned up I directed them to her flat & went to give a report of what we’d done for her.  They took her off in the ambulance about 90mins ago. 

I hope she’s ok but, given she couldnt put any weight at all on her right leg, I think she’s managed to break her hip.

I think I need another day to get over the weekend!

xx

About Miss J

Gen-x Australian female - out of my mind and my country. Cast adrift, as it were :) Enjoys: cat-cuddling, books, movies, music, theatre, travel, rpgs, cricket, F1 racing and all things to do with the sea..
This entry was posted in useless information. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

