Everyday anger.. First World problem #23

I commute. Not as far as I used to.  But I, like a couple of billion other around the world every day, commute.

Going to work is not a drama.  Well, not much of a drama.  Ok, so I always have to stand like a sardine on an overcrowded train, but there’s usually space enough to read my book – so it’s bareable.

Going home, however…

Why is it that going home is so much worse than coming in?  Everyday, sardineville. Fighting to get on and off the train. Selfish people who won’t consider moving down and letting others on.  Etc etc.

And worst of all, to me at least, are those blazè commuters who saunter slowly down the crowded platform, on their phone or just not caring that  they’re causing others to miss their trains.

See, if I dont get at least halfway down the 10 carriage platform I cant even get ON the train, let alone get a seat.  I never get a seat, I accepted that long ago.  And I dont mind standing, as long as I can read my book.  But if I dont get halfway down the platform, the train is so damn full I cant even get on.  If I cant get on I have to wait 20mins for the next one – which is also ridiculously full and squishy.

But every single day, I have to fight and elbow my way past saunterers who just dont care about the queue of 20 or so people behind them. 

I hate not being able to walk at my normal ‘alone’ pace.  Hate it.  Every single work day I’m frustrated by these people – as are no doubt millions of others.

My station platform is my daily frustration zone. Unavoidable, the same level of frustration every day, I know it’s going to be bad and it still frustrates me.

And to all of you who walk slow down station platforms – there is a special circle of hell reserved for you. 

Thanks. Sometimes you’ve just got to vent :). Rant ends.

xx

About Miss J

Gen-x Australian female - out of my mind and my country. Cast adrift, as it were :) Enjoys: cat-cuddling, books, movies, music, theatre, travel, rpgs, cricket, F1 racing and all things to do with the sea..
This entry was posted in useless information. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

